Tags

,

It use to be that I only had one computer. It wasn’t hard to store all my notes and story in one place, using my one central computer for all things writing. Looking  back, it probably wasn’t the smartest idea to store everything in a single place, especially when I’ve learned the lost data lesson more than once.

Last year I tried something different, mostly because I knew I might have to work on different computers. This year I KNOW I will be bouncing and writing in whatever room I happen to be in, so need the tools to allow me to write on a whim and sync across computers. There’s the plus side of having backups, as well.

My “Tools”

1. Evernote
Last year, I used Evernote to write my entire novel. I did run into an issue or two with syncing, though. I haven’t noticed those same problems lately, but to be on the safe side, I’m using it just for notes/outlines/inventory. I like the options it has for formatting and organization.

2. Dropbox
New this year is Dropbox. Since I have been bouncing around electronics so much, I found using a central folder synced online was the easiest way to keep all my projects together. I have a specific folder called “Writing” that will have my main word document for NaNoWriMo.

3. Google Chrome
To keep me organized, I log into Chrome on any computer I might be using. Just signing in presents me with my bookmarks and saved passwords. This is helpful when I need to quickly access Evernote, Thesaurus.com, NaNoWriMo.org, or Twitter. I even have different profiles for writing and non-writing, which helps cut down on the distractions from non-writing sources.

That’s it! You’ll notice the “sync” theme across the board. Evernote and Dropbox are also available on my Kindle, which can be extremely useful for notes when I’m nowhere near home.

Happy NaNoWriMo!

